help: MXR Dist+ squeeling that varies w/ guitar volume knob

Started by XtraMedium, January 31, 2005, 04:03:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

XtraMedium

Hi, all--I'm new here, and I'm new to stompbox building.  (I've made some non-audio circuits in the past, though).  

I've breadboarded a MXR Dist+ clone.  Here's a link to the schematic:

http://www.harpamps.com/schematics/mxrdistp.pdf

The problem is that this thing squeels when I plug in my Strat.  The squeeling changes pitch when I vary the volume knob or change pickups.  It turns into a high screech if I max the volume knob on the guitar.  Adjusting the tone knobs on the guitar has no effect on the squeel.  If I put another pedal between my guitar and the Dist+, the squeeling goes away.  There's probably a simple solution, but I haven't been able to find it in the FAQs or old posts.  Any help you could offer would be great!

Also, the pots on the effect only seem to have any effect at the end of their range.  I'm assuming this isn't normal...

bryantabuteau

umm.. i had issues with my first build ( a dist+ clone)  that was a strange oscillating squeal.   I just hadn't grounded my output jack properly.  Not suggesting thats your problem, cause you indicate it works with another pedal somewhere, but anyways.....

and the schematic i used for the dist+ had the pot values all weird.  evrybody recommends different values, and i think the distortion (or volume pot, i can't remember) should really be reverse log taper.  not that i can buy reverse log taper pots in NZ.  

I still haven't found correct ranges for my pot values on the D+ so that its usable over the entire pot sweep.

strungout

Oy.

Usually when that happens to me, I can find the culprit to be a lowpass that's not doing it's job. Check the 8-10pF cap in the feedback loop of the 741, make it a bigger value and see if the squeal goes away. It might be a good idea to use a quieter opamp too, TL07x or something like that.

Ciao.