Wiring a Switch (on-on) to Select Between LED and Diode

Started by charles, February 06, 2005, 06:24:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

charles

Hi guys,

I am trying to do DS-1 mod in Fuzzcentral.
How shall I wire a selector switch to switch between a LED and a diode?

Instead of completely replacing one of the clipping diodes to LED, I wanna get both sounds by adding a switch.

Thanks!

RickL

Wire it so that the LED is always in the circuit. Wire the diode in parallel with the LED through a spst switch. When the switch is open only the LED is active. When the switch is closed the lower voltage drop of the diode will kick in before the LED, as if only the diode was in the circuit.

charles

Thanks Rick.

How would it be different with dpdt switch?  I got on on lying around...
(obviously...I am a beginner here... :-) )

RickL

Although it's a bit of a waste you can wire the dpdt exactly the same way. Use one of the middle lugs and one of the outside lugs, it will operate as a spst switch.

dpdt switch lugs viewed from the back.

Use 1/2 or 2/3 or 4/5 or 5/6.

Note, if you have a spdt or dpdt switch that is centre off (the toggle has 3 positions instead of 2) you can choose between 3 sets of diodes. Just connect the third set of diodes (or third diode if you're only switching one diode at a time) to the open lug on the switch. The other end of the diode(s) goes to the same place on the board as the free end of the first switched diode(s). This would let you choose between, for instance, LED, silicon and germanium diodes.

In the above diagram silicon would go to 1, wire to the circuit (one end of LED) to 2 and germanium to 3. Free ends of both silicon and germanium would go to the other end of the LED in the circuit. Just make sure you keep the polarities of the diodes the same if you're only switching one diode at a time.

modmod