Absolute beginner looking for guidance

Started by SkullRock, February 09, 2005, 06:58:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SkullRock

Hi, the title pretty much states how much knowledge I have of electronics.  The most I have done is install true bypass via a DPDT switch into my Vox Wah Wah pedal, and truly I have know idea what I did, I just followed the instructions.  But ever since I saw the Nintendo Muff on ebay and checked out experimentalistsanonymous.com, I have been incredibly interested in building my own stompbox or modding my current pedals(Vox Wah, Big Muff PI, Line 6 Delay Modeler).  The problem is is that I have know idea where to start. I found this (http://www.geocities.com/CollegePark/Library/1355/beginners.html) site via the links on EA and have already gone out and bought the necessary equipment(after reading what's okay and not okay to buy at RS unfortunately).  I have yet to purchase a project box though because they were out of the size I needed, therefore I have not yet started.  After reading all the instructions though, I still feel I don't really understand what I'm doing though.  So what I was wondering if any of you knowledgeable people knew where I could go to find information on this stuff.  Whether it be websites, books, or even a community college course, I'm really kinda lost.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.
                                                                   Thanks,
                                                                   (hris
"SKULL CITY CREW! COMIN' AT YOU!"

KORGULL

1)Check this out http://q.webring.com/hub?ring=eewebring It is a large collection of links, I saw there are some basic electronics theory tutorials there.
2)Go to the bookstore and get some basic electronics books.
3)To learn more about audio/effects circuits just keep using this site. Use the search function and check out all the links at the top of the page (Ampage, Geofex, AMZ).