Newbie Here...Is There A Generic Parts List?

Started by vich, February 10, 2005, 12:55:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vich

Hi all,

I've never built a pedal, although I have modified one.  I would soon like to dive into the world of DIY stopmboxes.  I've been snooping around various sites and reading some of the begginers stuff, various effect projectes and so forth.  I've noticed that nearly all projects have an associated parts list that covers the resistors, capacitors, transistors, etc. - the parts unique to that particular project.  I'm looking for a generic parts lists (with part numbers) that covers everything else you need - the input/output jacks, pots, knobs, wire, battery clips, DC jacks that mount to the PC board, boxes, switches, etc.

Is there such a detailed list that basically every stompbox project will require?  I would love to get my hands on one, because I don't know enough about parts to have a clue when I'm looking for, say the appropriate PC board mountable DC jack on Mouser's website.  There may be one out there that I just haven't found.  Such a list would be MOST helpful to greener-than-green newbies like myself.

Please help!  Thanks folks!

Mark Hammer

I've suggested to Steve Daniels in past that some sort of beginners' package might be a good item for Small Bear to sell.  Essentially, an assortment of common parts directed at pedal-builders (chips, trannies, sockets, LEDs, battery snaps, pots, knobs, passive components, jacks, pad-per-hole boards, a stompswitch or two, etc).  While not the sort of guy to turn down something like that, Steve is nevertheless frequently swamped in business-related things that make it hard for him to set aside time to put together such "variety packs".