Q For Those Of You Who Have Built Anderton's VPD

Started by Paul Marossy, February 11, 2005, 11:08:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul Marossy

On the Craig Anderton "Volume Pedal De-Scratcher" circuit that I built, when the volume is supposed to be turned down all the way, there is still some guitar coming thru. I have checked to make sure that the pot is actually turned all the way CCW, and it is (I've got an Ernie Ball with a 1M pot in it). I haven't used this volume pedal for a while, and I noticed this last night.

So, anyhow, my question is - is that how the circuit normally would work or does something need tweaking? Does that diode between the volume pot and ground prevent it from completely dumping the signal to ground or something?

Here's the schematic: http://www.diyguitarist.com/PDF_Files/vpr.pdf

Paul Perry (Frostwave)

What are the chips there? If the first one is a CA3080 then it is surely going to need some tweaking..

Mark Hammer

I'm a novice in such matters, but doesn't the diode to ground on the pot present a sort of resistance, making the voltage divider never reach "zero"?  That is, it acts a bit like the small value resistor one sometimes sees on the ground leg of gain controls in amps and some pedals.

Incidentally, while we're busy attracting the attention of folks interested in volume control, has anyone ever attempted to use the Motorola MC3340 attenuator chip?  I understand there is some CV leakthrough, but if the CV is in the seriously subaudio range (how fast can YOU move your volume pedal foot back and forth?) perhaps it's not such an issue.  I'm asking because these things can provide a ridiculously simple remote volume control.

Paul Perry (Frostwave)