My fuzz face experience, debugging

Started by usbdevice, February 13, 2005, 08:17:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

usbdevice

Hey all, just wanted to share an experience I had tonight.
I'm a newbie on this forum and to electronics as well. I've been reading here for quite a while now but haven't really posted yet.
I've built a couple of things over the last year or so and this place is a great resource. Big thanks out to everyone who posts here.
OK, now on with the story.

I've had a fuzz face on my breadboard for a week or so, trying out different input/output caps and transistors. I'm using a schematic found on GGG - npn, negative ground, silicon transistors. Last night I figured it was time to solder the thing up and put it into a box. Since the box already had 3 holes drilled for pots I decided to implement an input cap blend control (tried it out on the breadboard first). After I was satisfied with the sound I perfboarded it and went on to put everything into the box.
I hooked it up and... you guessed it, no sound, no wait just a faint idea of a fuzz when I hit the strings hard with the gain and volume controls al the way up. Sounded like the bias was off somewhere. So I open up the box and start probing with my dmm. Everything looks normal except for q2's collector which was just 20mV away from the supply voltage. I went over the circuit 20 times looking for solder bridges, bad solder joints and layout mistakes, checking all the off-board wiring and trying some other transistors. Couldn't find anything wrong so I decided to probe around with an audio probe (had to build it first). Signal was good at the collector of q1, and of course still wrong at the collector of q2. I should note that first thing I did was to remove my only "real" mod, the input cap blend even though it worked perfectly on the breadboard, just to be sure.