Quintessential Dist/OD box?

Started by vich, February 14, 2005, 11:53:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

vich

If you had to pick a must-have distortion/OD box to complement an 808-modded TS, what would it be?

Absolute newbie to the world of DIY stompbox construction, but I'd very much like to give it a whirl.  I'm looking to build the perfect distortion/overdrive for my needs.  I play a Strat or Les Paul through a Dr. Z MAZ Jr head and a Z-Best 2x12 cab.  I run the amp quite clean and use pedals to push it.

I currently have:
1) an 808 modded Tube Sreamer.  I love it, but I'd like something similar without the mid boost.  It seems to cut off lower and higher frequencies.

2) a Bad Bob clean boost.  Great for major clean gain.  I put this between the guitar and the TS808 to push the TS into a wonderful place.  Bad Bob is a bit treble heavy, but it's very useful.

3) Maxon compressor for more gain on solos & general compression needs

I am looking for the perfect dist/OD pedal that functions much like the TS but without the mid hump and low end high end cut.  Primary use with be for crunchy-ish rhythm or maybe leads if there is enough gain on the thing.

What project do you recommend?  Thanks!  -Vic

MartyMart

Well thats a bit like asking "how long is a piece of string?"
Every guitarist will tell you what he/she prefers and it all comes down to "your own" personal taste/needs !
But..... without avoiding the question altogether, here's a few ideas from my personal tastes.

"Marshall Blues-breaker"  -- good choice and different enough from your "TS" sound, for "blues" and some lead work.

"Rat" or "Big Muff" for a "thicker" slightly "Fuzzy" tone.

"BSIAB II"  for a great "High Gain" marshall stack tone.

"Easy Drive" - again "high gain" and as the name suggests "Easy" to build!!

"ROG PepperMill" for a nice "Fender" type boost/drive

How's that for starters ?

Cheers,
Marty :wink:
"Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm"