Legal situations

Started by mlabbee, March 10, 2005, 02:31:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mlabbee

I've been following the thread on Torchy and as I understand it, he may have pulled out of all of this because he received some legal threats regarding his work.  Some of you have no doubt read my posts on the legal protections available for circuit designs and may have guessed that I'm a lawyer - well, I am and I'm actually a patent lawyer, which means I specialize in exactly these kinds of questions (I'm an intellectual property lawyer, which encompasses copyright, trademark, patents and trade secrets).

If anyone on this forum receives any threats of legal action based on their posts, please feel free to contact me directly and I will give you pro-bono (that means free) advice on what, if anything, you should do.  From what I've seen, people in the effects and DIY world have some serious misconceptions about the breadth of protection available for these circuits and I'd like to help out people who are being threatened witrh no basis (of course, if you are doing something wrong, I will be upfront with you about that as well).  

This invitation is extended particularly to Torchy, but also to anyone else who has been threatened.

You can e-mail me directly at IPLaw@labbee.com

I'm offering this help because I get very annoyed by people who run around threatening people either because they are ignorant or because they think the people they are threatening will be too afraid to stand up for their rights.  

Any advice I give you will be informal, unless we need to formalize things, but we can deal with that if/when it becomes and issue.  Also, I will only be able to advise you on federal law and state law in Arizona, California, Colorado and Georgia.  If there is a state law issue at stake in any other state, I will have to refer you to a lawyer licensed to practice there.

Mike

David

Mike: