High vs. low input impedance

Started by bassmeister, March 14, 2005, 12:52:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bassmeister

I've seen designs for guitar effects with input impedances ranging from lower than 100 kOhm up to several MOhms. High input Z is always preferable to avoid loading down the guitar signal, as far as I know. Why isn't as high input Z as possible always used? High Z = more noise, certainly. But, do there exist designs that could suffer from too high input Z? I'm not very experienced (Are you...?! :wink: ) with Fuzz faces, but I think that this effect interacts a lot with the guitar pickup, a case where the effect would suffer from having a too high input Z.

Could anyone enlighten me or direct me to a source on the net regarding this issue?

Thanks!

onboard

Have a read through the "Technology of the Fuzz Face" over at geofex.com - the whole circuit is covered from front to back with a good explanation of the why's and how's, not just the what.

I'm not very experienced either, but *some* things are starting to make sense... :wink:
-Ryan
"Bound to cover just a little more ground..."

niftydog

Input impedance is generally a trade off between signal loading and noise. Too low an impedance loads a signal, but makes for lower noise entering the circuit. Too high an impedance doesn't load the signal, but allows noise to pass more easily.

Any circuit with a high gain stage could suffer from having too high an input impedance.

The benefit of a 1Mohm impedance vs. a 100kohm impedance is quite small, in fact almost negligable. However, the signal to noise ratio might be drastically affected.

see my post near the bottom of this old thread.
niftydog
Shrimp down the pants!!!
“It also sounded something like the movement of furniture, which He
hadn't even created yet, and He was not so pleased.” God (aka Tony Levin)

petemoore

With even numbers I attempt to type my first equation...hope it works..