Bass compressor

Started by nosamiam, March 18, 2005, 12:49:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nosamiam

I searched the archive for this one, but I couldn't find and answer.  I'm sure it's out there, but I couldn't find one.

I'm a bass player and I am looking to build a compressor that will work well with my instrument.  I have played through a couple of of "guitar-specific" pedals with less than satisfactory results.  I want to build a compressor and I was hoping someone with some experience could give me a nudge in the right direction.

I'm looking for a pedal that allows for variable attack time.  Does anyone have any suggestions for builds that include this, or a way to mod an existing project to include an attack pot?

Any help would, of course, be very helpful.

Ringwraith

Ever try a Boss CS-2?
I've never used it live with bass (I'm a guitarist) but I've used it on many recordings with bass & it was great. It has the attack knob.
I especially liked it when I was doing a lot of funk bass stuff.
The one I have is from the mid eighties.
Not sure if there's a build for it but I'm sure you could pick one up off ebay for cheap.

Hmm, just checked ebay & there's lots of CS-3's & CS-1's but no 2's.

HTH
Sean

MartyMart

Tech 21's "Bass compactor" is fantastic !!
worth a try in a music shop for sure  :)

Marty.
"Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm"
My Website www.martinlister.com

David

I'm assuming you're also considering DIY.  Should that be the case, check out this thread:

http://diystompboxes.com/sboxforum/viewtopic.php?t=24935&highlight=flatline+bass

Joe Kramer

Quote from: nosamiamI searched the archive for this one, but I couldn't find and answer.  I'm sure it's out there, but I couldn't find one.