Mounting perfboard

Started by new2diy, March 23, 2005, 12:18:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

new2diy

Hi, I'm new to DIY, and I just ordered parts to build my first pedal (FuzzFace). Now, I know how to solder, and all that.. but I have no idea how to mount the pad-per-hole perfboard to the casing! :?:

I read the 'Tweak-O' project on SBE, and it mentions "studs" but I have no idea what that is. :roll:

smashinator

Well, the "good" way to do it is to use standoffs.  You can get plastic ones and epoxy them to the enclosure.  Metal standoffs are also available.  Perhaps you can epoxy those, but I bet there's a better way...  

Some of the folks here use velcro, or just leave them "flying."

There are LOTS of possibilities.  I've had luck with the plastic standoffs, but I haven't tried anything else yet.
People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it. - George Bernard Shaw

http://pizzacrusade.blogspot.com/

casey

i use a machined screw - like a 8/32 or so, and use a piece of rubber tubing as my spacer and secure the board with lock nuts....
Casey Campbell

aron

The GEO FAQ at the top link addressed this a while back.

VELCRO  :shock:

vanhansen

Quote from: aronThe GEO FAQ at the top link addressed this a while back.

VELCRO  :shock:

Sure, why not velcro.  That's what I used to mount my Ruby amp circuit but I put one side of the velcro on the perf where there's no solder points. If I had put it in a more sturdy enclosure other than a tin, I would have used standoffs.
Erik

petemoore

I've had N/P's with this part.
 depends on how much room the board has for the mounting and how bigit is.
 I use the 'bolt through' method, with a Bic Pen's roll cut 1/2' section of plastic tubing...if the board has a flat section large enough for the tubing to 'seat'.