Help! DS-1 mod unsuccessful...

Started by orni, March 28, 2005, 11:22:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

orni

Maybe I could have kept my hand in my pocket, but I decided to ask for your help. If it isn't the right place to call for help please forgive me. But if it is you will make an happy man.

I replaced the diodes with LED's and all went fine.
Then I replaced C3 and it was fine too.
I finally replaced C10 and C12 and here the problem began. I have a very nice sound which I'm happy with, but unfortunately the volume and tone pots have now no effect at all. My DS-1 works like it is at full volume.

I don't know how to troubleshoot this. I verified the soldering, made sure I didn't join two tracks on the board that shouldn't be, but I am not experienced enough with modding (this is my first one).

I can live with that as I'm happy with the sound anyway but if the pots were working...

The caps are 400V instead of 50V. Could this be the cause? I wasn't very clever with my ordering.

Could someone give me some general directions on how I could troubleshoot this problem?

Fret Wire

What value caps did you replace C10 & C12 with?
Fret Wire
(Keyser Soze)

orni

Peter Snowberg

This is a perfect place to ask for help. :D

The voltage rating of your new caps is not a problem.

I don't have a schematic for the DS-1.... anybody got a link?

I'm sure we can figure it out. :D

It sounds like a short to me. Could there be a solder spatter that landed on another part of the board? Depending on how those controls work, there is the possibility that the robbon cable between the main board and the pot sub-board has a broken connection.... just something to look for.

I can suggest more with a schematic, but right now examine the whole board surface to see if there is a little spatter of solder some place. Use good light and a magnifying glass if you have one around. I've seen solder bridges that are the diameter of a very fine human hair.
Eschew paradigm obfuscation

orni