OT: My car battery died, can I charge it with a 12V supply?

Started by nirvanas silence, March 31, 2005, 10:12:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nirvanas silence

I'm in a pinch so sorry for the OT post.  No one around to jump my car and I need to be somewhere soon.  I have a benchtop 13.8V power supply from Radio Shack rated at 10A.  Can I connect this to the battery and charge it up?  Any resistors or anything needed?  Any ideas?

Ed G.

Now, I'm no expert but I think it would charge it, but not too quickly. I've seen some 'trickle chargers' that keep a slow charge on batteries, and they look no larger than most wall-warts. People keep these hooked up to their boats, RVs or lawn mowers so they keep charged, but not overcharged.
My charger has three settings, I think 2, 6 and 12 amps are the settings. Most wall warts are about 1 amp max.

j0shua

Well is slow like hell , you need about  12v - 6A  if you wana charge in about 8 hours, but most of all 12v power supply are 1A or 1.5A ....  that take about a week to charge hehe

cheers

nirvanas silence

Well my battery is at 8V right now and the power supply is 10A.

petemoore

Should charge kwik enough @ 10amps...DONT Overcharge...
 We got charged for a battery that was then put on the charger by 'dude'...at the gas station [we paid for the battery up front] ...battery was fried...no charge at all. He said "New battery, been on "Start' all morning"...there was 'steam' coming out when I got there and he took it off the charger...hardly any spark when I touched across the terminals, the good battery we drove there on threw huge sparks....anyway these things CAN [but will get damaged[ by overcharging.
 One way to tell if it's charging is look at the voltage of the 'dead' battery, then with the charge current applied [whatever amps that is] and then after a while on the charger what the difference is.
 I think most these car batteries hold about 18V before they get damaged by overcharging.