I want to make Infrared LED/LDR combo into expression pedal

Started by ryanscissorhands, April 06, 2005, 02:42:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ryanscissorhands

Explanation:

I'm fairly new to electronics theory and whatnot, but I've been trolling this forum for over a year now, so I can at least be pretentious.

I want to use an infrared LED/LDR combo outside of a pedal to act as an expression pedal. the idea is that when your foot is close, more IR light gets reflected into the LDR. (I eventually want this to vary the speed or depth of a tremolo pedal). My problem is that, as far as I know, most LDR's have a high resistance in little light, and low resistance in bright light.

What I need is to be able to put this varying resistor in series with either the speed or depth pot of a tremolo. However, i want the opposite response from the LDR--I want nearly zero resistance when my foot is away from it, and for the resistance to increase with more reflected IR light.

One of the reasons why I want the pedal to control depth is so I can use it with an Ebow. I can get a decent sharp violin sound with my Ebow, but my sustained sounds don't sound very good. If I could manually add a little depth to a tremolo, I could slowly add trem for sustained notes.

Now, the questions:

1) Do some LDR's have this opposite reaction to light? If so, how can I tell which ones do, and which ones don't?

2) How else can I get the opposite effect from the LDR?

3) SHhuld I give up, but a cheap Behringer volume pedal ($30 US) and figure out a way to implement it?

4) Any other suggestions? Anything is welcome. Except give up. I'm too picky/stubborn.

filterazonatie

I won't be much help at all, but I just wanted to say that that's a REALLY COOL idea, and my hat goes off to you!