Stereo chorus to a delay....

Started by Randar, April 08, 2005, 05:12:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Randar

Hi, I'm a newbie here and I'd like to get some input  :)  I was wanting to know, is it possible to change a stereo chorus to a delay format? I heard that changing out some ic chips it could be possible. Is this true?
Thanks in advance

Mark Hammer

It's a much bigger job than you have been led to believe.

1) Yes there ARE delay chips with more delay-time capacity that are pin for pin replaceable with those used for short delay times like chorus and flanger, but the chip best known for delay times worthy of being called echoes is NOT pin for pin compatible with what you likely have in your chorus pedal.

2) To make a delay pedal, you would need to identify the portion of the circuit which sweeps the clock up and down, and disable it, replacing it with components that would produce a fixed, but adjustable, clock rate and delay time.  Feasible, but loads of trouble and clearly well beyond your level of expertise at the moment (of course if you're willing to wait a year or two...)