orange squeezer help needed

Started by rockthebass, April 09, 2005, 01:12:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rockthebass

Im a newbie here so i dont want to make anyone mad over asking this question, but ive over the past 2 days ive breadboarded this circuit 3 times and i havent gotten any sound out of it except the first time and then it wasnt affected.  the next 2 times there was no sound and after 10 or so seconds the battery got hot.  my dad--who was an industrial electrician back in the day--says that its getting hot because the circuit is trying to feed positive into the negative battery terminal.. or something like that.  and if its doing that then i dont want to leave the battery hooked up long enough to measure voltages because im afraid it will damage the 3 tantalum caps and the diode (which i dont have any more of the caps).  like i said, its on the breadboard so i dont think a picture would help, but ive checked, rechecked, and checked the circuit again and again and i cant figure out where ive gone wrong

all of the tantalum caps are reading various resistance and the diode is reading 1.5k ohms---if that helps any.  i also looked at the "checking for a dead transistor" article at geofex but theyre JFETs and im not sure how they work compared to an NPN.

i think thats all.  thanks in advance

bwanasonic

Yes if your battery is getting hot, you are essentially "shorting it out", just as if you were connecting a bare wire between the terminals. When I first built my Orange Squeezer clone, I managed to achieve this same result!  After several tries, checking continuity with a DMM helped deduce the problem (wiring error). Using a meter/continuity checker, and without a battery connected, you should be able to figure out where the problem is.

Kerry M

Mark Hammer