"Proper" (prefered) use of a booster?

Started by Johnny Guitar, April 11, 2005, 11:19:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

How do you tend to use your booster?

Total Members Voted: 10

Voting closed: April 11, 2005, 11:19:05 PM

Johnny Guitar

I was wondering how people here tend to use their boosters and why they use them that way. You also might want to add something about which kind of booster you prefer and why.

When I first got my LPB-1,  :oops: thirty some years ago, I just cranked it (into a solid state amp) as did my other guitar player (who quickly blew up his BF Bandmaster OT). I stopped using it after this.

Since then I've wanted to use a boost for a little nudge for leads and the like. Maybe I'm missing a real important way to use these devices?

John

Marcos - Munky

I like to use a booster to give more gain to my distortion. Now I got a Digitech Metal Master (which have lots of gain), and just use them in the unity volume to color the sound a little.

brett

Hi.  Without a booster, solos would be too clean and thin.  I like a Tubescreamer, a clean pre-amp and overworked output tubes for fat tone from a Fender-style amp.  Or just a booster and a Marshall-style amp.  

So I think it depends a lot on the amp involved.
Brett Robinson
Let a hundred flowers bloom, let a hundred schools of thought contend. (Mao Zedong)

bwanasonic