Going to start rolling my own PCBs soon-a few questions

Started by ExpAnonColin, April 12, 2005, 02:30:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ExpAnonColin

Here is a walteresque list of questions... I am going to use the laser printer onto avery paper/ironing/ferric chloride method.

1) I went ahead and bought some board from Radioshack because I'm impatient.  Was this stupid?  Where can I get board of different colors, like the really cool green?

2) Is there anything safer, or less generally evil, than ferric chloride, assuming price is no big deal?

3) Is there any way to do a DIY solder mask?  This would be super cool...  Does spraying it with polyurethane varnish help?

-Colin

NaBo

Well, I'm by no means an expert, but I've read a bunch about pcb etching when i was starting out, and i've done two pretty successful batches so far...  I'll give you a response if for no other reason that the forum is usually kind of dead and this ungodly hour. (for me anyway... 5:30 am  :shock:)