dc jack works and battery does not? dunlop wah

Started by boogietube, April 14, 2005, 08:39:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

boogietube

I'm trying to repair a dunlop gcb 95. It works with the dc jack and not the battery. Any Ideas? I measured the battery 9.16v  and i measure voltages of 8-9.16v at various points in the circuit. I'm very new at this and need help.
Pedals Built- Morley ABC Box, Fultone A/B Box, DIY Stompboxes True Bypass box, GGG Drop in Wah, AMZ Mosfet Boost, ROG Flipster, ROG Tonemender, Tonepad Big Muff Pi.
On the bench:  Rebote 2.5,  Dr Boogie, TS808

Pedal love

Exactly where are the leads of the battery connected?

boogietube

They're connected to a header which is plugged into the board via a strip of pins.
Pedals Built- Morley ABC Box, Fultone A/B Box, DIY Stompboxes True Bypass box, GGG Drop in Wah, AMZ Mosfet Boost, ROG Flipster, ROG Tonemender, Tonepad Big Muff Pi.

Mike Burgundy

If you measure voltages in circuit, the battery appears to be connected.
The DC jack usually switches the battery off when a plug is inserted - this might be a problem. Also, check voltages with the battery and with adapter, carefully taking notes and comparing as you go. Maybe it's a s simple as a reversed battery hookup...
I think I have a '95 PCB around somewhere  -could you take a digital pic of yours (to make sure)? That way I could draw in some arrows to show where you should measure what.

boogietube

i dont have a digital camera but this link is the same board:

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/s.castledine/greenfuz/tb4.html

niftydog

just to clarify, you say you connected the battery and you're reading the battery voltage at various points in the circuit yet it still doesn't work?