Transistor distortion

Started by ibanezts808, April 21, 2005, 03:08:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ibanezts808

okay,  I am still new to this.  but I'm wondering, if I bias my transistor to say like 6v then could that produce an asymmetrical clipping?  or do I need diodes etc to clip?
Hi Paul.  Welcome.  We are all Stompboxaholics

I am so cool.

Steben

Quote from: ibanezts808okay,  I am still new to this.  but I'm wondering, if I bias my transistor to say like 6v then could that produce an asymmetrical clipping?  or do I need diodes etc to clip?

Oh, yes you can make transistors clip assymetrical. What about a fuzz face? That's assymetrical allright!
With 2 germanium trannies you can even get a very very sweet overdrive-like fuzz sound, let's say Led Zep II. Check this out (with sound samples):
http://www.angelfire.com/droid/burvenich/fat_germs.htm
Basic is a series of only two treble boosters.
  • SUPPORTER
Rules apply only for those who are not allowed to break them

davebungo

Quote from: ibanezts808okay,  I am still new to this.  but I'm wondering, if I bias my transistor to say like 6v then could that produce an asymmetrical clipping?  or do I need diodes etc to clip?
There's a bit more to it than that.  To get clipping you also need quite a bit of gain in the circuit and to be honest, it all depends on the circuit design.

niftydog

a transistor is a glorified diode. Most anytime you're talking about semiconductors, there's diodes involved somewhere, often everywhere!

You seem to be getting the idea of transistor circuits. You are on the trail. I encourage you to check out this series of excellent articles by starting somewhere around here, for more detail (asymmetrical clipping is shown on the very next page!)
niftydog
Shrimp down the pants!!!
“It also sounded something like the movement of furniture, which He
hadn't even created yet, and He was not so pleased.” God (aka Tony Levin)

ibanezts808

Quote from: davebungo