SOT: Attempt at "tubish" MOSFET amp

Started by brett, April 25, 2005, 08:07:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

brett

Hi.
I've drafted up a class A MOSFET amp that I'm going to experiment on, with the aim of getting a wall-wart powered, tube-sounding amp capable of about 2W to 8W power.

My questions are: 1.  Is there a demand for such an amp?
2.  Am I making any mistakes in the design?

thanks for any comments or help.

Here's the design so far;
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~jethro.dog/mypic156.jpg
Brett Robinson
Let a hundred flowers bloom, let a hundred schools of thought contend. (Mao Zedong)

Connoisseur of Distortion

1. ABSOLUTELY! if you can get MOSFETs to sound like tubes, you'll make friends with all kinds of amp builders!

2. I am by no means an expert... but it looks like it should work. i don't know anything about MOSFETs (used them, but never really learned about them) or speaker loading (nothing in that section yet) so you should probably wait for actual advice.  :wink:  

you should make a different output optional! a push-pull setup, in case we want it louder!  :)

brett

Quotein case we want it louder!
The main problem with higher power is that wall-warts aren't feasible as power supplies.
In fact, I have wondered whether the MOSFET should have a Vcc of 15V, so that (a) it draws less current, and (b) it clips harder.  For some reason, a heavily clipped 5W sounds louder to me than a clean 10W.  RG has commented on this, too.
Brett Robinson
Let a hundred flowers bloom, let a hundred schools of thought contend. (Mao Zedong)

runmikeyrun

isn't that what the Tubeworks amps were trying to accomplish?
Bassist for Foul Spirits
Head tinkerer at Torch Effects
Instagram: @torcheffects

Dislikes: old women

jrc4558

How many watts do you think it will produce?
Also, note true class A design!

toneman

looks workable.
i would regulate the MOSFET separately.
that way, when drawing large currents, won't affect the