Aron, I have a forum request.

Started by ibanezts808, April 28, 2005, 08:14:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ibanezts808

I think it would be really cool if you could add a forum for general beginner questions.  And also, if it wouldn't be too much trouble, make a faq as a sticky on the most common newbie questions.  If you're too busy, I could maybe write the faq, I'm not too experienced, but I'm sure other people here might help.  the people in this forum might even appreciate it because it would take most of the newbie questions out.  I too have been one of the newbie question culprits. lol.  just a thought.  but I wouldn't mind helping out.  Have a great day, and thank you for such a good community.
Hi Paul.  Welcome.  We are all Stompboxaholics

I am so cool.

ryanscissorhands

I understand your concerns, and appreciat ethat you are aware that newbie questions can be tedious for the more advanced. I, too, and a mewb.

But remember that you're not the first "new" person to visit the site. It has functioned fairly well for many newcomers, including myself, without painfully directed learning. What I would suggest is reading through the entire FAQ, following the links to other good sites (geofex, amz, generalguitargadgets), and following the links on those sites as well. I know that it seems tedious to go through all of that information, but if you are truly a newb, then all of it will add to your knowledge, even if you don't find the answer to the specific question you are looking for. In fact, that's how I learned most of what I know--reading every post, regardless of whether I knew what they were talking about electronically--and plowing through the volumes of information in search of a specific answer.

I tell you, I learned a TON of information by looking (googling, actually) for an explanation of HOW A TRANSISTOR WORKS (or something like that). The only reason why I learned so much during that search was because it was so hard to find.