Running a treble booster on 12v

Started by Threefish, May 19, 2005, 05:03:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Threefish

HI all,

I'm a bit of a noob, so be easy on me.
I've built a mini-pentode preamp/chip (LM1875) power amp combo for practice, and while I like the sound, it could do with a bit more treble. All cap mods I can figure out to the preamp have been tried, with me now falling back on a smaller value cap in my AMZ booster to give me a bit more jingle. I'd like to wire in something permanent in my combo cabinet, and the preamp runs on 12v, so I'm thinking a screaming bird/Vox treble boost type thing on 12v will be ideal, with just a bit of gain, set fairly low by a trimpot - I'd like to keep the sound very clean. I also have 36v and 5v available to me through the preamp, but I thought they would be too high and too low respectively. So, mentors - what do you think? What mods would i have to do to the SB/VTB (I'm still trying to understand transistor biasing), or should I try something like a Fetzer valve modded for more treble?
"Why can't I do it like that?"

nelson

You could regulate the 12v to 9v using a voltage regulator. Having the treble boost circuit foot switchable would be a good idea. I havent heard good things about the screaming bird, so I would breadboard a couple of circuits and try them in the preamp, before commiting to a final design.

I am a bit of a newb too, but I think that would work.
My project site
Winner of Mar 2009 FX-X

Threefish

Thanks Nelson, I was thinking about the same thing last night. Everything I'd read about the Screaming Bird was fairly negative, but as the difference between it and the LPB1 is just in the input and output cap values, I thought I could get a balance between the two. I put together a 12v-9v regulator circuit with a couple of caps last night (off of the LM7809 data sheet) and at least now I have 9v to work with. Emailed ROG and got a reply about how I can mod the Fetzer valve :