Bobtavia diodes

Started by bograt, May 28, 2005, 03:44:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bograt

I'm new to all of this, but I have made a working Tweak Fuzz so I'm off and running.

Having searched the site for "Bobtavia" and looking for Diodes, I can't find an answer to why there are 4 diodes arranged the way they are.

I've tried drawing the signal pattern from the transformer, but don't really know whats going on.

I've bought all the parts, and am ready to go, but "if" :D  it doesn't work I'd like to figure out why - not knowing what this part of the cct does bothers me!

Thanks

jmusser

The diodes set up a full wave rectifier off the transformer to give the up octave effect, flipping the bottom half of the wave form on top of the reference. If they're in series like that, I believe it doubles how big the wave form is on top of the reference, when compared to what just one 1N4148 would do normally. In doing that, I would think it would have to make more of a squared off wave form, since it only has so much room to make a wave form in, and the rest has to get clipped off. I believe it also aids in how much overall output you get from the effect also. I may be off by a football field on this, if so, someone correct me so I don't further confuse this poor guy. It's how I understand it though. The Bobtavia was my very first effects pedal, and is still near and dear to my heart. I'm still trying to get a handle on exactly what's going on too. One thing I don't really understand, is why the wave form needs to be inverted before it's rectified. The op amp versions invert the wave form, and the transformer also inverts the wave form 180 degrees from what went in on the primary. Maybe the wave form would naturally fold under to be a down octave otherwise, I don't know. This is how I've interpreted the stuff I've read, and may have convinced my self of something that's totally false!