Took some time off to build an amp. It is now complete!!

Started by scottosan, May 29, 2005, 10:26:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

scottosan

Here are the clips of my first amp build. I was going for an agressive tone, since I have a JMP, JCM800, and a Bogner XTC. I kind of miss my Uberschall , but anyway, I wanted to use something along the layout of the marshall so I could use my amps as references for all of the layout an wiring. From that point I set out to get as much gain and agressive voicing as possible out of the 3 gain stage layout, so I studied a butt load of schematics. My main concern was noise and oscillation when I started jacking with the gains stages. I never though I could get this much gain, but there are tons of good resources on the internet for suggestion on noise control.

gain - 12:00
master- 10:00
Treble - 12:00
Middle- 12:00
Bass 10:00
Presence- 12:00
Depth 10:00

The Depth control Rocks BTW

http://home.comcast.net/~scottosan2004/hb2.mp3

The part that sucked the most, was drilling the chassis.

petemoore

Super !!! Looks and sounds Fantastic, Aren't you the happy dog !!!
 Nice work BTW, looks like it's built like you [and I] would want it...
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

scottosan

Quote from: petemooreSuper !!! Looks and sounds Fantastic, Aren't you the happy dog !!!
 Nice work BTW, looks like it's built like you [and I] would want it...
If I could do one thing different, I would have gotten a thicker chassis.  THis one is fine and supports the trannies just fine, but it could be thicker.  All in all, I did it for a tad over $400

robbiemcm

That does look amazing. If you don't mind me asking though... what contributed to the main cost of this project? And I'm sure I (and many others) would be interested in the plans for this and the research you did to keep noise down and such, unless you don't want to release that. Your choice :P

Thanks for the pics, enjoy your new machine
Robbie

scottosan