TL072 Op Amp problems

Started by boogielicious, May 30, 2005, 06:31:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

boogielicious

I'm building the Neutron filter and U2 is causing me some problems.  I'm getting positve voltage on pin7.  Pin 8 is reading 9.3vdc and pin 4 is -9.3 vdc.  When  I put in the op amp, the voltage on pin 7 starts increasing toward +9 vdc.  Are these bad op amps?  U1 and U3 seem to be OK.

Scott

seanm

Sounds like your biasing is bad. I know nothing about the Neutron filter but I recently had a problem with an opamp where it would sound ok then the sound would go bad.  Do you have a link to the schematic?

boogielicious

http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/diagrams/neutron_filter.pdf

Here's the pdf from GGG.  

Thanks for your help.  I'm just learning about op amps.

Scott

niftydog

Pins 4 and 8 are good.

Pin 7 is bad.

What are the other voltages?

The op amps are probably ok.
niftydog
Shrimp down the pants!!!
“It also sounded something like the movement of furniture, which He
hadn't even created yet, and He was not so pleased.” God (aka Tony Levin)

boogielicious

This is what I am getting for Op Amp voltages without the H11F3 in and a new TL072.

Pin     U1     U2          U3 (Up)     U3 (dn)
1         0      1.35^      -7.86        9.12
2        .15    0             -.03           -.03
3        .17    0             -.06          3.82
4       -9.3   -9.3          -9.3          -9.3
5         0       0              0              0
6         0       0              0              0
7         0      9.0^         .36           .34
8        9.7    9.7           9.7           9.7