MXR MICRO AMP help newbie question

Started by fckwit, June 18, 2005, 09:23:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fckwit

Hi,

i'm completely new to building pedals.

I've been looking at the schematic for the mxr microamp for a few hours now trying to figure out what parts i need.

i've been looking through google now for hours trying to find out what each symbol is and now i'm confused.
Could someone give me a list of what the parts are on the schematic?
that way it would make more sense to me.

jimmy

weeeell, im sure somebody has a good link for you around here, but heres a quick list:

the things that are square and have the little tails are your input and output jacks.
the squiggly lines /\/\/\/\/ are resistors
the curvy bottomed boxes )| are capacitors
the triangle is an opamp (ic chip)
the triangle with the line on the end >| is a diode
the triangle with a line on the end in a circle is an LED (light)
the bunch of lines iIiIiI is a battery
the squiggly line with an arrow through it is a potentiometer (knob)
the three dots in a triangle are SPDT switches (single pole, double throw)
all the arrows pointing down are ground. join all these together.

good luck!!!
Jim
"Who the f*** are the naked chefs?" - Ozzy Osbourne

tubes or bust

fckwit

thanks for your help mate! thats cleared things up nicely!

one more thing, whats the PWR JACK?

jimmy

thats where the wall adaptor goes in. thats optional i guess.

cheers
Jim

tubes or bust

fckwit

ah cool, thats what i thought it was.

fckwit

one more thing.

I've been looking round for the capacitors and i dont really understand their values. I cant find any with the same value as the one in the schematic, the same goes for the resistors too.

any help?

petemoore

Have you tried Small Bear Electronics online shopping pages?
 BTW  if you're doing a 9v circuit, make sure the caps are rated at 16v or more.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

jimmy