Acoustic guitar signal boost for tuning on loud stage...

Started by hairyandy, August 29, 2005, 01:49:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hairyandy

I've done some searching around on the board and I think the AMZ Mosfet Boost might be the best way to go, but I thought I'd put it out for discussion and see what you all think.

I'm a guitar tech and I have to deal with tuning acoustic guitars on a loud stage all the time.  I've got a new tour starting in two weeks and I thought that I'd finally solve this annoying problem by building something.  I've seen other techs use GE-7 EQs and the like to boost the signal, but I'd like to make something small that I can permanently mount in my workbox and use for  acoustics, electrics and basses.  Basically just a full-range, clean-as-possible boost that won't kill the front-end of a TU-2 or a Peterson VSII but will override the vibrations coming from the back of the PA and the backline.  Any ideas other than Jack's Mosfet Boost or is that the best way to go?

Thanks for the consideration,
Andy Harrison
It's all about signal flow...
Hairyandy's Layout Gallery

petemoore

Might sound funny, a padded bag on the box.
The PA sound can be 'forceful' enough to introduce Alot of 'stray' harmonic input, through the air, caught' by the bodywood of the guitar, and transferred Directly into the pickup.
I suspect the signal level may not be the function killer, but the fact that the tuner is not recieving 'clean enough string information [you could record the guitar output under loud PA conditions and probably hear the 'extra' tones the pickup is putting out].
Boosting will not separate the 'needed' info, [string vibration frequency] from the 'unwanted' stuff the PA is 'injecting into the body/pickup.