Identifying jack tips

Started by Herr Masel, September 25, 2005, 10:03:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Herr Masel

Hi, I'm new to this, having lots of fun but I can't find a page explaining how I identify the tips on mono or stereo jacks. Also, how big should I drill holes for the jacks and pots?

Herr Masel

Ooops should of put it in the 'beginners only' thread. How do you edit here?

ninoman123

You need a DMM (digital multi meter). Stick a guitar cable in the jack. Turn your DMM on continuity mode. Then touch one probe to the tip of the guitar cable and touch the other probe to one of the soldering lugs of the jack. If it beeps, you have the lug for the tip if it doesnt beep try again. Then stick one probe to the sleeve of the guitar cable and the other probe to a different solder lug. If it beeps you have the lug for the sleeve, if it doesnt keep trying. If you have a mono jack then you are done. If you have a stereo jack, then the lug left over is for the ring of the jack.

Hope that made sense...if it didnt I will post a tutorial on my page later today.

petemoore

Top right click on modify...
  Sure fire way to test what jacks do is use a cable to insert into the jack, then adress any connection questions to DMM. For tip, touch the tip of the cable and find the lug that beeps the DMM.
  Testing to see if a jack is doing what you think it will or want it to...poke around it with the DMM and cable to find the connections and N/C's [non-connections] of the jack in question.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

Herr Masel