Making a generic envelope follower

Started by soggybag, September 27, 2005, 11:56:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

soggybag

Here's a schem for a generic envelope follower. I Made this by adding the GGG buffer in front of the envelope from the Dr. Q. I think I used the Dr. Q drawing from Jack Orman's site so it probably has some his mods in it.

I breadboarded this and it seems to be working well. At this time I've just been lighting an LED by playing notes ont eh guitar. It seems to be working pretty well.

I'm hoping this could be a simple envelope follower that could be added to any circuit that might need one. My own plans are to add to the Rate control of the Frobnicator.

I'm looking for suggestions or thoughts for improvements. I'm a novice I'm sure I'm not seeing something that could be done.

Mark Hammer

The one I'd like to see a board for is Harry Bisell's envelope follower that he designed expressly for guitar (well, for his guitar synth) and published in EDN.  I've misplaced the link, so someone with better research skills (or the link itself) will have to help out.

The one you've drawn (and thanks) from Jack's chip-adaptable Dr. Quack is certaily simple and cheap.  Harry's is just plain responsive.  I can vouch for it because I've played it. He nails the "holy grail" of envelope followers - ultra-fast response time with little detectable ripple.  If you can imagine and play a dynamic difference, this thing will pick it up.  Usually, if you want a fast attack, you end up with more envelope ripple, and if you try and smooth out the ripple you have to forfeit the fast attack.  Harry's idea uses a round-robin combo of what are essentially 3 envelope followers combined into one.  Sort of a big build.  In fact more components than a great many effects pedals themselves.  But if the goal is a nondedicated envelope follower that can be assigned to different things, this is the shiznaz.

Dave_B

Quote from: Mark Hammer on September 27, 2005, 12:51:20 PM