Phishing Expedition Using My Domain--Beware Please!

Started by smallbearelec, September 27, 2005, 11:24:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

smallbearelec

I saw a message tonight that purported to come from smallbearelec.com. There's a link and a redirect in it to 204.111.168.28:90 where presumably they'll ask for the usual personal data. I have no experience combatting this kind of theft, so I am doing the first thing I can think of and warning my community.

Regards
Steve Daniels

octafish

Thanks Steve.
Hey Aron or Peter could we sticky this for a while so it remains at the top of the list?
Shoot straight you bastards. Don't make a mess of it. -Last words of Breaker Morant

PenPen

Steve,

I believe you can report this to your local FBI branch office. At very least they should be able to direct you to the agency that handles internet fraud. Do you have a copy of the message/email?

shawn

Might want to consider making an announcement on your website as well. I'm sure there are some people who purchase from you who never visit diystompboxes.

Man that is most definately lame someone would resort to that.

vanhansen

Expect to see this kind of thing with any place where money is exhanged.  The best that can be done is to report it and also make sure it is clear on your site what info you will and will not ask for in an email.
Erik

smallbearelec

Thanks for the suggestions! I have done the immediately necessary on the site and will contact law enforcement tomorrow.

Regards
SD

Yun

ummmmm, uh oh

There was a grab bag of capacitors on your site, mr.Steve, and the price was $0.00.  So i tried ordering it just to see what the price really was, and never could get it to go through.  Am i "at risk" eh? 

I'm really worried now....
"It's Better to live a lie, and forget the past, then to Forget a lie, and live the past"

GBlekas

http://www.ifccfbi.gov/index.asp

Here is a link to Internet Fraud complaints.