Something that does not make sense (to me) about the TS-808 schematic

Started by Hardtailed, September 30, 2005, 01:00:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hardtailed

Let's start with said schematic (from Geo)

I'm sorry, maybe I'm just stupid :), but I just can't understand something. I have some but limited knowledge about electronics, mostly I've never dealt with audio processing and with semi-conductors before, but I'm getting closer to my goal of understanding everything! I don't want to clone a TS-808 but I'm working on a design of my own which will gather ideas from the TS and the Guv'nor (my current OD pedal, black serie of course).

Ok, to my question, in the clipping amp section, we see that a 4.5V is applied just before the opamp input, this I suppose is to bias the signal to half of the available power (I guess we could call that "class A" biasing). Then we have the feedback loop, I understand most of it, how the parallel condensator limits treble content, how the condensator in serie to ground limits low frequency content.

What I can't understand is, if it's biased to 4.5V, how can the diodes clip both side of the signal? Technically, what comes out of the opamp is pretty much all positive with the middle point being around 4.5V right? So one diode would be always off, and the other always on.

Please help me figure out that one, I will love you forever afterwards!

Thank you!

cd

You need to read two things:

Technology of the Tubescreamer: http://geofex.com/Article_Folders/TStech/tsxfram.htm

Effects FAQ (specifically, the clipping section): http://geofex.com/effxfaq/distn101.htm

The first picture in Distortion 101 is what you want.  In the Tubescreamer, the part marked "zero volts" is 4.5V, and the signal goes above/below 4.5V (biased to half the power supply - NOT NECESSARILY CLASS A!!!)  The clipping diodes limit the amount the signal can go above/below 4.5V.

Transmogrifox

Another way to look at it is this: