I know I'm new to this, but this makes no sense!

Started by Noplasticrobots, October 22, 2005, 07:54:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Noplasticrobots

I have a succesfully working Bazz Fuss. I made a socketed version so I can swap out components to see what I like best. I built the socketed version from the working model, but when I plug in my guitar, it doesn't work. However, if you pull out the guitar input one click so that the tip of the guitar input touches both metal contacts on the stereo jack, it works fine. So I assumed I had a wire misplaced so I started to debug and everything is in the right place.

I'm not using a polarized cap on the input, so I thought that might be the problem. I plugged in a different value polarized cap and it did the weird stereo tip thing again, so it's not the polarity of the capacitor.

Even as I'm typing this, I'm going over the schematic and the working Bazz Fuss comparing them and everything is in it's rightful place...but it can't be! Anyone have any idea what's wrong?
I love the smell of solder in the morning.

bioroids

Weird  ???

Have you tried replacing the input jack?

Miguel
Eramos tan pobres!

Noplasticrobots

I haven't tried replacing the input jack. I don't have any spares lying around. Maybe I'll have to make a run to Radio Shack later.

KORGULL

Are you using jacks with a NC switch? How many lugs are on the input jack?
If you are using a NC switched jack, maybe you have it wired so that when the plug is inserted all the way it is opening the switch and breaking the contact you need for getting the signal to the rest of the circuit.

Paul Perry (Frostwave)

Korgull is probably right. It took me a while to realise, you can't test FX boxes wihtout all the leads plugged in! :icon_redface: