SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

Capicitors

Started by Screaming Solo, November 04, 2005, 10:43:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Screaming Solo

hey im gonna build a ts808 but im missing one part

i need a 51 pF capacitor but i can only buy a 47 pF and a 68 pF cap

will the small difference really be that big of a deal? will it mess up the sound or operation of the pedal? or can i safely sub a 47 pF cap for a 51 pF

Screaming Solo

also does anyone reccommend any extra mods to the TS 808 to improve it before i order all the parts?

im using this schematic

http://www.tonepad.com/project.asp?id=1

i'm gonna use all the parts they listed there to build it except i swapped out the tant capacitor for a poly film one since i've heard it makes it sound better any other ideas?

Screaming Solo

sorry for the triple post i just have lots of questions since this is my first time attempting this  :icon_redface:

what is the difference between a 3PDT switch and a DPDT switch? which one should i get for a tubescreamer?

Strat Cat

A 47pf will work fine in place of a 51pf

A 3PDT stomp switch is what you need if you want to have an LED with your true bypass switching. Or you can use a Millenium Bypass circuit for the LED when using a DPDT stomp switch. Personally I prefer using a 3PDT stomp switch.

Screaming Solo

alright thats kind of what i thought would be different

anyone else think it will be worth like the extra 6 bucks for the better switch

i want to have an LED indicator on my circuit btw

thanks for the help

Screaming Solo

basically wouldnt it be easier to wire for true bypass and an LED with a 3PDT switch than wiring a DPDT switch in Millenium Bypass?

KORGULL

The DPDT will make things slightly more complicated for you to have true bypass switching with an LED indicator.