B.Blender parts/schematic query + some other questions...

Started by kissack101, November 25, 2005, 01:34:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kissack101

Evening all....

I play a little bass (i'm also a little new at this so please be patient...) and I'm gonna put my EHX Russian Muff and my EHX Bass Balls in one "Taiwanese 125C-Size" from Small Bear (to save space on my pedal board - both pedals have large enclosures with very little inside). I also wanted to add a 'blend' knob to mix a little uneffected signal with the fuzz to give it punch/clarity.

So, after combing the forum (this place is a real treasure trove) it seems a lot of people have had sucess with the B.Blender. My questions:

1) The schematic (this one: http://www.seanm.ca/stomp/bblender.html) looks reasonably straight forward with the exception of the large, triangle-like components which I think are OpAmps. If I was to order these from Small Bear, exactly which component would I need? And if it's a chip, would I need a socket or something similar?

2) The Bass Balls has a switch to turn the distortion on and off, the likes of which i've never seen before. I was hoping to swap it for something smaller but i've no idea what type of switch it is, any help would be appreciated.

3) *somewhat irrelevant* What type of tube does the Z.Vex Nano amp use and are they available to Joe Public? I have aspirations of making the Tube Wah on the GeoFex website and i'm trying to figure out a way of getting s tube inside a Cry Baby shell.

Well, that's pretty much it for now, thanks in advance...

Adam.

Bernardduur

1. normal TL-072 can do the trick (those are two "triangles" in one, so you need two). I would socket them.

2. a normal throw switch can be used (my guess it was a DPDT switch). The bassballs uses a slide DPDT switch.

3. Dunno
Am learning something new every day here

SquareLight | MySpace account

gaussmarkov

fwiw, i made a verified perfboard layout of the b. blender that fits into a 1590b box: