Stereo input jacks - why? and TB Loop Questions....

Started by trumpus, December 12, 2005, 11:56:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

trumpus

So i build a single TB loop a little while back, and now i'm doing a few more for some friends.  This time, i was told that i should use a stereo jack for the input (from the guitar side) to control when power was on to the LED (only when something was plugged in).  I'm not sure how to go about wiring this jack (how is this any different than using a mono jack?).

It is my assumption that the power must somehow go through the jack, so that it can turn it "on and off" whether something is plugged in or not.

I've seen Aaron's diagram for wiring single and multiple loops, however i have been using a diagram from the guys at Loop-Master.com, which wires the 3PDT switch COMPLETELY different!

I have seen quite a few different ways to wire a 3PDT switch within the context of a TB loop box with an LED - as a newbie, i just don't understand why all the different ways work the same!

Here's what i want:

I need to make a single loop box with an LED a 9V batter and a DC jack

I also need to make a double loop box with an LED, 9V battery and a DC jack. 

What would be helpful is if i had ONE good, correct diagram depicting the correct wiring of each of these projects.  The diagram i have received from the Loop-master.com guys for the multiple loop box doesn't seem right to me.  The input is on the left and the output is on the right (backwards, as far as i can tell) - which is opposite from the original diagram i received when trying to put a single loop together.

I can post some pictures if it would help to illustrate...but i 'll have to get them up tomorow....

Brian

ronh95

I found the 'Offboard Wiring' .pdf file at Tonepad under FAQs to be extremely helpful.  It has a diagram for 5 or so scenarios, with/without true bypass, with/without LED, etc.  Good stuff for a newb like me.

http://www.tonepad.com/getFileInfo.asp?id=76