fading effects in/out?

Started by Luhny, December 18, 2005, 08:28:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Luhny

Hi all, I've been lurking around here for awhile and have a question to ask. I'm a newb to the DIY stuff, but I have managed to complete my first pedal, the Rebote 2 delay from Tonepad. Excellent pedal, it sounds awesome.

My question is, is there any way to make the effect less pronounced when it's turned on and off? When I turn off the delay, it's too sudden. I'd like it to just do a nice fade so it's not so noticeable when I turn it off.

BTW, here's some pics if anyone's interested. This particular pedal is Pearl Jam themed, as Mike McCready is the main influence in my playing.

R.G.

Nice finishing work there.

The simplest way to do a fade in/out is to use JFET switching like the Ibanez line and put much bigger capacitors on the gate circuits of the JFETs. This does whtat you're looking for directly. It's possible to build this into an external box.

Another way is with a dual LED/LDR setup or with a dual OTA variable gain amplifier setup. The JFETs are much easier.
R.G.

In response to the questions in the forum - PCB Layout for Musical Effects is available from The Book Patch. Search "PCB Layout" and it ought to appear.

smccusker

are you sure you're a noob to diy? :icon_eek:
Guitar -> Amp

Dave_B

Quote from: smccusker on December 18, 2005, 10:17:01 PM
are you sure you're a noob to diy? :icon_eek:
No kidding.   :)  Luhny, is that all inkjet decals?  Very nice look.
Help build our Wiki!

niftydog

for a delay, one good trick is to have the switch disconnect the input (ie; ground the input and re-route your guitars signal) of the circuit only. This way, when you hit the switch to "bypass" it, whatever delay repeats are still in the delay line will continue to sound, but no further signals are input to the delay.
niftydog
Shrimp down the pants!!!
“It also sounded something like the movement of furniture, which He