Some theory help please

Started by Herr Masel, January 14, 2006, 02:10:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Herr Masel

I started learning electronics from these books by the open university, it is going well and I am enjoying it but I am really stuck on one thing here. The topic is analyzing circuits. In the following diagram I copied (quite poorly, I should add :icon_wink:) from the book I am supposed to find the current going through R3. This is done by dividing the diagram into two and working out the current of each section seperately, then subtracting the smaller from larger one which leaves you with the current going through R3.
The way I reckon it works this way (also going by their earlier examples):
Ua=Ia(R1+R3)+IbR3
and for the other section:
Ub=Ib(R2+R3)+IaR3

R1=15ohm               R2=70ohm
  ---\/\/\/\----- |---------\/\/\/\---
|                   |                        |
|                   \                        |
__ Ua=6v       /                      ___ Ub=6v
-                   \ R3=10ohm       -
|                     |                      |
|                     |                      |
|-----------------|-----------------|

I will not include my math here because it would make the post needlessly long, but I can if you want me to. The thing is I keep getting the wrong results. The answer is I3=O.27A according to the book. Can you help understand what is wrong? I had my father look at the math and he said it was correct, but he doesn't know electronics so I guess something is wrong with my equations? I hope I am not getting too hung up on this, but I don't want to keep going with the book until I've solved it. Thanks alot.

R.G.

Well, I can tell you that the answer they've given you is correct, but I got the answer the way you're not supposed to.