Favorite Booster projects?

Started by Bornhorst, January 16, 2006, 04:57:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bornhorst

Hey all!
Im new to building stompboxes, and would like to start with a nice booster pedal. 
What is your opinion on the best sounding booster?

Im using a strat into a homemade tube pre-amp with a SS power amp.

Thanks

petemoore

Im using a strat into a homemade tube pre-amp with a SS power amp
  >You want to try a different one...?
I was about to say...something about he Shaka Tube, [second half w/out Oa Section], which I whipped out the today, it seems you have a tube pre...
  What about hammer the pre's input? Something with a Jfet or three would probably give you some 'clean fill dirt' [thicken up the tone]/ fairly EZ build W/Great tone.
  Tube into SS output amp seems to have established a reputable track record, tube inputs have always worked well for me.
  ...ie assuming you're leaving the tube into SS amp as 'amp'.
  For a better answer I like to ask...
what don't you want it to do?
What's the setup...you've covered that I think.
what else will it be used with?
  Rangemaster is a fun little build, and if your amp and everything get along with it, and you get lucky W/noise/biasing/matching it can be worth the trouble...it took me years of voicing, testing Q's, rebiasing, different amps...before I was figuring out how to...or how I like a Rangemaster..it would seem sensative = finicky sometimes.
  It now does one widely variable effect thing for me w/volume knob of guitar.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

lethargytartare

I go on and on about the sparkleboost (by Dragonfly, member of this community) -- very clean, very potent, very simple build.  Get's an A+ from me.
I recently built the sekova power boost -- I give it a B -- excellent output, very fat and tubey, extremely simple build (basically an LPB1 with different caps).