|HOME| |DIY FAQ| |GEO FAQ| |Debugging Page| |Links| |Schematics| |Wiki| |Layouts Gallery| |STORE|
|AMPAGE| |GEOFEX| |AMZ|

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 21, 2014, 08:24:54 AM
978057 Posts in 104087 Topics by 33406 Members
Latest Member: FloydPinkman
Home Help Login Register
DIYstompboxes.com  |  DIY Stompboxes  |  Digital & DSP  |  PROJECT: Crossbar 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 Go Down Print
Author Topic: PROJECT: Crossbar  (Read 34008 times)
puretube
Posts: 7208


but, err, I`m not really here...


WWW
Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #60 on: April 07, 2007, 04:03:18 PM »

"I was looking back to see if you were looking back to see if I was looking back at you..."  icon_smile

happy easter!
Logged

Gripp
Posts: 164

Pelle G


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #61 on: April 08, 2007, 03:02:25 PM »

Comments anyone?  Its wierd that there are thousands of views but no comments....

What can one say? Simply awesome!!
..and a scarily tidy workbench too.

Best!
Pelle
Logged
Chuck
Posts: 151


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #62 on: April 08, 2007, 03:58:46 PM »

..and a scarily tidy workbench too.
Thanks, its not that tidy.  Just small.
http://www.voodooengineering.com/release/bench1.jpg
http://www.voodooengineering.com/release/bench2.jpg
http://www.voodooengineering.com/release/bench3.jpg
http://www.voodooengineering.com/release/bench4.jpg

Chuck
Logged
KB
Posts: 63

Kevin B


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #63 on: April 10, 2007, 02:19:03 AM »

I have to agree with Gripp

This is awesome. 

This is something that I dream about being able to make for myself...

Congrats on the progress so far, looking forward to seeing the end result.

Kevin.
Logged
Iojan
Posts: 11


Sebastian F.


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #64 on: April 13, 2007, 09:31:48 AM »


Very good place to work! now I am working in the same table in which I eat icon_mrgreen

Excellent work, thanks to share it.

Saludos!
Logged
Chuck
Posts: 151


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #65 on: April 23, 2007, 11:50:11 AM »

Just as and update, I was away to California for a week so i haven't been doing much.
I did get the PIC talking to the MT8816 this weekend.  So communications is all working and my circuit works so far.
Now its just a matter of coding, which I'm getting back into.
Logged
R.G.
more
Posts: 16421


WWW
Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #66 on: April 24, 2007, 03:57:21 PM »

Tee - hee...

It's just A Simple Matter Of Programming, right?
Logged

R.G.

Every single NASA manned mission starting with the Gemini series has carried a roll of duck tape.
Yes, really. Look it up.
Chuck
Posts: 151


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #67 on: April 24, 2007, 04:10:40 PM »

R.G.,
Yep.  Smiley  But what keeps me motivated is showing you what I can do.   

I am at the part you described about twenty messages ago.  I have a working circuit.

Getting user interface that you understand this week is easy. Getting one that you understand in a year is hard. Getting one that a person who hasn't read the manual can do is... HARD.

I may have to steal the java gui frontend from the Sound Sculpture Switchblade.... No that would be cheating.  I figure I'm going to need a user interface with an alphabet scroll for input.

It is starting to bother me that I used a serial interface instead of a parallel, I hope its fast enough.
Logged
Chuck
Posts: 151


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #68 on: April 29, 2007, 07:09:10 AM »

A lot of headway this weekend.
Well it all works!

Things are a bit more cluttered now.
http://www.voodooengineering.com/release/cluttered.jpg

I had to use a Logic Analyser on the PC pictured to sort out the timing.
The serial commands are not too slow, in fact they are a little too fast for the MT8816.
I had to slow down the strobe using a ms of delay to keep it stable.
http://www.voodooengineering.com/release/cluttered2.jpg

I'm currently switching from two patch setups.

Guitar to Amp
Gutar to Destortion Pedal to Amp

It switches fast and clean without an popping even and I'm not grounding out the Amp between switching like R.G. discussed.
(Though that may still be needed with longer patches.)
The ribbon cable I'm using to connect the audio I/O boards to the router board isn't affecting tone or sound at all.
When I scope the before and after audio signals the traces are identical.

I need to make the test I/O board with more input and outputs and hit Mouser for some more jacks.
I also need to add 8 EEPROMs to store the patches and recall them.
I figure I'll use the 24LC512 EEPROM and stack them up for 512k of memory.
So I'll probably draw up a couple more boards to send out to ExpressPCB this week.

I also got some cool navigation switches from Sweden this week for providing user input.
http://www.voodooengineering.com/release/h29194.jpg

Still working on the user configuration code, but I got some ideas now that I'm actually setting up patches.
I think at first I'll provide a user screen to name the effects and assign the jack pairs.
Then a user screen to select the effects and put them into a chain, then write it to a memory bank/channel.
Logged
kunkler99
Posts: 2


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #69 on: May 01, 2007, 03:06:50 PM »

Hey chuck are you going to offer this for us to build after you get it done? This is exactly what I have been looking for!! You said in a past post you might have some extra boards? How much?? Thanks Scott
Logged
Chuck
Posts: 151


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #70 on: May 01, 2007, 04:04:12 PM »

Scott,
Yeah, I was thinking about writing it up when I'm done with this research phase.
Probably on the midibox site -- since thats where I really started this from.
I realy don't know how I wound up here -- probably R.G's comments.

I'm working on redrawing the router board now, so i can add the charge pump circuit and the EEPROMs.
There are actually 5 board which comprise the system.  CPU, user IO, Router and 2 boards of 8 audio jacks.

If you want an early start send me a PM.

Chuck
Logged
Dave_B
Posts: 1330


Dave in Kansas, USA


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #71 on: May 01, 2007, 07:10:52 PM »

The Swedish switch is very nice.  Do you mind saying where you bought it?  I found the E-switch nav switch while doing a search, but it's not nearly as cool or (seemingly) easy to mount in a box.

I imagine this project has a lot of crossover appeal.  I can see this living comfortably on a number of different forums. 
Logged

Help build our Wiki!
Chuck
Posts: 151


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #72 on: May 02, 2007, 01:48:10 PM »

I got them at Elfa.

http://www.elfa.se/elfa-bin/setpage.pl?http://www.elfa.se/elfa-bin/dyndok.pl?dok=11617.htm

In sweden.  Pretty qucik actually.

A module are complete, you don't need extra caps.

Chuck
Logged
kunkler99
Posts: 2


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #73 on: May 23, 2007, 09:14:58 PM »

Hey chuck how it coming along?
Logged
Chuck
Posts: 151


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #74 on: May 24, 2007, 01:30:57 AM »

At this point in time I'm working about 3-4 hours a week on this.
It may be like this for the summer.  There really is only coding to do.
I consider the hardware ready for one last board milling.

Chuck
Logged
R.G.
more
Posts: 16421


WWW
Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #75 on: May 25, 2007, 06:40:59 AM »

People don't really appreciate the sarcasm in "a simple matter of programming" until they get into programming, do they?

I feel for you Chuck.

Are you using one of the one- or two-line LCDs for annunciation?
Logged

R.G.

Every single NASA manned mission starting with the Gemini series has carried a roll of duck tape.
Yes, really. Look it up.
Chuck
Posts: 151


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #76 on: May 25, 2007, 07:27:48 AM »


It would be nothing to simply hard code the whole thing and change the code everytime I want to setup new patch chains.
But I'm putting some effort into a real user interface.

Two lines is all I can fit into a 1 RU case.  I have a 40 character or an 80 character two line LCD to choose from.
Right now I'm trying to fit it into a 40 character one.  I'm attempting to create a alpha numeric routine to choose letters in a name.

I got distracted by ordering a Egnater M4 and buying a VHT 2150.  So I'll probably build a road case for those before even coming close to finishing this switch.  Right now my wife has me stripping kitchen cabinets.

Thanks for the sentiment.  Smiley
Logged
KB
Posts: 63

Kevin B


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #77 on: May 25, 2007, 09:07:38 AM »


Right now my wife has me stripping kitchen cabinets.


Been there, done that..... feel for you... icon_biggrin

will keep watching the progress.... Looking forward to seeing the completed switching unit.

I still cannot get a little one working, and all I had to do was program a PIC, with the supplied code....

Kevin
Logged
Dave_B
Posts: 1330


Dave in Kansas, USA


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #78 on: May 25, 2007, 12:11:15 PM »

all I had to do was program a PIC, with the supplied code....
Did the supplied code mention anything about how to set the fuses?  I'm no longer that familiar with PIC's but that's a pretty common issue if you haven't done it before.
Logged

Help build our Wiki!
Chuck
Posts: 151


Re: PROJECT: Crossbar
« Reply #79 on: May 26, 2007, 03:15:22 PM »


Right now my wife has me stripping kitchen cabinets.


Been there, done that..... feel for you... icon_biggrin

Yeah, its taking me about 2 hours per cabinet and I can do two before running out of steam for the day.  4 down, 12 to go.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to: