Nurse Quacky for Bass: Is there an official schematic? (PIC)

Started by barret77, March 26, 2006, 11:29:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

barret77

Hello all

I'd like to build a nurse quacky for bass; I checked the schematic at home-wrecker ( http://www.home-wrecker.com/nurse-quacky.html ) and the post "Modding a Dr Quack for bass"   ( http://www.elixant.com/~stompbox/smfforum/index.php?topic=17064.0 ).

I'm having trouble to follow all the Mark Hammer advices - some of them are already at the home-wrecker schematic, some are not - and I'm getting a bit lost. (I'm still a newbie)

So, is there an "official" schematic or layout for the bass quacky? Are there further recommendations from Hammer's post?
Has anyone built it?

Thanks a lot!

Mark Hammer

There is no "official" bass schematic, to the best of my knowledge, but the recommendations for bass use are typically as follows:

1) The range of the bass is obviously lower, so the filter has to be tuned lower to provide the same "character" to lower notes on the bass that it provides to higher ones on the guitar.  You can start by increasing the value of the two .0047uf caps to at least .01uf, and probably higher than that.  Making them .022uf will drop the filter down by a bit over two octaves.  Something around .015 to .018 may be better for folks who like to play on the higher strings of the bass.

2) The envelope follower that sweeps the filter has to respond to the bass signal appropriately.  Stock, the Nurse Quacky tends to ignore much of the low range where many of the bass notes live, such that it would tend to respond only to higher notes.  You can fix this by increasng the value of the .01uf cap after the sensitivity control to .022 or .027uf.