Small Stone Voltages Please

Started by Jaicen_solo, April 03, 2006, 11:56:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jaicen_solo

Hey guys, i've recently decided to resurrect one of my (very) old projects, the Small Stone from GGG. I built it back when it was JD's Guitar Effects page, something like 5 years ago. Unfortunately, I never got it to work properly. I can get a subtle phase sound from it, but it's buried under a load of hiss and hum, like a bad earth. It's really quiet too and only works with one position on the color switch. Turning down the speed stops the LFO as well (I think, the phasing is hard to hear at slow speeds).
I've been looking for pin voltages, but I can't find any for the CA3094 version i'm building. I suspect it's got something to do with Q3 & Q4 and IC5, but I can't think what it is. I have no experience with OTA's so i'm looking for any help you guys can give me!

The voltages for IC's 1-4 are within a few millivolts:

1: 7.4v
2: 7.3v
3: 3.2v
4: 0.65v
5: 0v
6: 2.84
7: 2.84
8: 3.7

IC5:
1: 2.7v
2: 7.2v
3: 0.7v
4: 0.65v
5: 6.85v
6: 2.4v
7: 2.84v
8: 1.9v

Q1:
E:2.55v
B:2.0v
C:7.79

Q2:
E:2.5
B:7.83v
C:7.9v

Q3:
E:5.62v
B:5.4v
C:4.5v

Q4:
E:6.3v
B:6.2v
C:5.6

johngreene

Maybe all your IC's are wired reversed?

Pins 7&8 are connected together in the schematic and connected to V+, But it looks like you have pins 1 & 2 wired together and connected to the supply.

--john
I started out with nothing... I still have most of it.

Jaicen_solo

I just went back to re-check all the voltages on the pins, it seems I was numbering them wrong. I'm using metal can CA3094's, so I had to do a bit of bending to get them into the layout. Anyway, the correct pins and voltages are as follows:

1: 3.9v
2: 2.84v
3: 2.84v
4: 0v
5: 0.65v
6: 2.8v
7: 7.23v
8: 7.23v

johngreene

I'm not sure what you are looking for Jaicen.

Your measurements cannot be right.
Q1 shows the Emitter voltage higher than the base. This would normally mean it is biased off. However,