Trying to make noise reduction circuit with LM1894

Started by bancika, April 06, 2006, 02:24:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bancika

Hi
I just finnished prototype of noise reductor based on LM1894 according to N.S. data sheet.
Since it's intended for stereo application I just ignored one channel, left pins open. All caps are as suggested, and for R1 and R2 I put 1K trimmer (R1+R2 should be 1K). The thing is, I can't tell the difference in noise level with and without circuit. Can someone with more expirience than me (I'm a noob  ;D) take a look and suggest some mods so it can be more suitable for guitar generated noise.
By the way, it's plugged into regulated 9V PS (8V is suggested, but it can work with up to 18V according to sheet)
Thanks in advance!
The new version of DIY Layout Creator is out, check it out here

bancika

One more interesting, circuit sounds same with or without power  :icon_eek:

Mark Hammer

1) If it sounds the same with and without power, my guess is that it isn't working properly.

2) Just because it is a stereo chip being used for a single channel doesn't mean you can't use both sides.  I've seen a number of instances where the two channels of such a chip were cascaded to provide double the noise reduction.  It is also worth considering use of both channels for noise reduction at different points in the signal path, such as earlier and later.

bancika

Thanks for reply Mark,
Good idea about two pass filtering. I will consider it, just to make single pass version work :)
Idea is to put in the samo box as tonemender EQ, I was planning to use that after my line out from Firefly amp.
Do you know maybe what are desired voltages so we can compare with mine?
Thanks again.

Mark Hammer

Unfortunately, I don't know the voltages.  I do have a project article for this chip in an old issue of Electronics Today International in my basement somewhere.  I see that the datasheets from National include a PCB layout.  Is that what you used?

bancika