News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

MiniBooster

Started by aziltz, April 14, 2006, 10:35:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aziltz

i apologize for the barrage of questions, i'm a newbie and completely unorganized.  I'm currently working on Jack Orman's Mini Booster.
i couldn't find the specified value for the C4 cap which goes from the gate of Q2 to the source of it i believe.  I substituted what i had on hand, and i have this on breadboard and it has TONS of gain, way too much i'm afraid. i'm not sure what i have on their now, its either 10uf or .1uf.  how does C4 effect the gain? should i try as close a value as i can find for C4? my selection is limited.

-Austin

davebungo

The mini-booster is a rendition of a not so well known type of amplifier known as a mu-amp.  It relies on the FET in the drain circuit behaving almost like an AC constant current source i.e. a very high impedance at AC and therefore very high gain.  If high gain is not what you want then this circuit (at least in an un-modified form) is not what you are after.

Modifying the capacitor you refer to will not make much difference although it will affect frequency response (lowering it will result in an increased -3dB LF roll-off point.  You will still get high gain at high frequencies.

aziltz

yeah i know its high gain, it just seemed pecular that i'm getting an amp on 5/6 sound when its set on 1.5 with the pedal volue set at 3.

MetalUpYerEye

Quote from: aziltz on April 15, 2006, 10:45:57 PM
it just seemed pecular that i'm getting an amp on 5/6 sound when its set on 1.5 with the pedal volue set at 3.
Dude, thats what a booster pedal does; boosts the signal going into the amplifier. If nothing else, it's bound to make everything louder.

aziltz

Quote from: MetalUpYerEye on April 16, 2006, 04:39:05 AM
Quote from: aziltz on April 15, 2006, 10:45:57 PM
it just seemed pecular that i'm getting an amp on 5/6 sound when its set on 1.5 with the pedal volue set at 3.