OT? Oscillator circuits, wave generators - instrument project?

Started by Branimir, May 28, 2006, 03:02:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Branimir

Hello,

I know this isn't stompbox related, and i tried searching the forums for answers on this topic, but i lack the knowledge of the device that I'm after.

I would like to build a couple of oscillator circuits, in which i can choose the shape of the wave (sqaure, triangle, sine etc.), of course the frequency can be easily changed and maybe a few effects applied also.

I know there are devices somewhat similiar to what I'm after, my guess is that Moog produces them ;) But I'm a total newbie in this so i have no starting point about learing stuff regarding these "instruments". Am I talking about analog sytnhs or some other term? I'm sorry if I'm being stupid, asking these questions, but I would like to learn more about these instruments, and hopefully build some...

Since my english knowledge is limited, I've uploaded a sound sample of my inspiration.

It's a 50 second clip (600kb) from the song Crooked Axis for String Quartet from the band called Earth.

I'm guessing that low freq. sounds are coming from somekind of oscillator circuit and I would like to know more about history and basic desings of it...

Thanks
Umor

Built: Fuzz Face, Small Stone, Trem Lune, Fet Muff, Big Muff (green), Fuxx Face, Son of Screamer, Rat, Rebote 2.5, Opamp Big Muff, EA Tremolo, Easyvibe, Axis Face Si

christian

Just google up "synth diy" or "synthesizer diy". You get tons of links, theres even bigger community than with stompboxes out there :)

ch.
who loves rain?

Christ.

rockgardenlove

Just wondering, but how would you trigger these?  Building a simple oscillator is easy, but how would do something like hook it up to a keyboard?

christian

Quote from: rockgardenlove on May 29, 2006, 04:51:52 AM