Introducing The Biped, a 9v Biphase workalike using 4049 and simplified LFO.

Started by nelson, June 02, 2006, 02:22:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nelson

Hi Folks

I want a mutron biphase clone, I dont want to spend a fortune on 14 optocouplers, I dont want to run it from a bipolar 15v supply and I dont want to use 1meg rev log pots.

So, I have drawn this up. It uses the same filtering and phase stages as the Bi phase but has a simplified and modified "workalike" LFO and uses 2 X CD4049 for the VCR.

I am posting this here to get suggestions on this one. Obviously it is a big build and I am no expert so I would love it if someone could look over it to make sure there are no errors and to suggest improvements.

http://www.4shared.com/file/1883493/ccb10fe/the_biped.html

Thanks
Paul
My project site
Winner of Mar 2009 FX-X

Eb7+9

Nice work Paul,

the one thing that jumps at my eyes is the 100uF cap at the output of your Vb source - you don't need it because the Zout of your op-amp is way lower than anything your cap will provide - it doesn't help in that respect .... actually, in that configuration it can make some op-amps heat up ... try finding the National Semi app note on running op-amps on single supplies - a small valued cap is often stuck on the voltage devider side in front of the op-amp to shunt high-F noise, not after it ... everything else looks really groovy in there except for the front op-amp whose inputs seem reverse labelled, not sure about the mix op-amp too ... minor typos ...

~JC

nelson

Quote from: Eb7+9 on June 02, 2006, 03:02:00 PM
Nice work Paul,