PCB??? How's it work?

Started by Leviathan, June 28, 2006, 06:03:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Leviathan

Im really new at this. I havn't built any effects yet, and I'm still deciding on my first project but I had a question.

Doesn't PCB stand for Printed Circuit Board? How does that work.... Do you print the layout and use it for reference, or is there a weird way to use it to make a circuit?

Thanks in advance

bancika

Well it's board with copper traces and solder pads. Traces connects pads and act as a wire and pads are there to solder components to.
So PCB replaces bunch of wires connecting components. You can't just print PCB, it has to be etched. You start with blank board: epoxy (or other material) board completely covered with thin layer of copper and then etch everything but pads and traces.
Any clearer?
The new version of DIY Layout Creator is out, check it out here

RaceDriver205

I would suggest you first build a kit from somewhere. I dont know where in the world u live so I can't really recommend a store. Electronics stores in Australia have kits like electronic dice and simple timers etc which would show you how the circuit board is used to make a circuit. Youd also get some experience soldering.

Leviathan

Thanks for the info :)

I think I'm just going to leave that one alone for now and solder wires and leads to components on perfboard. PCB sounds a little too complicated for me lol

I live in Sequim, Washington, and pretty-much all we have it a RadioShack (NOT closing down, darn-it)

I'm thinking of getting the Tweak-O kit from SmallBearElectronics. Is this a good idea for me? I really want to get into building stompboxes and modding guitar electronics.

tiges_ tendres

Quote from: Leviathan on June 28, 2006, 07:50:22 PM
Thanks for the info :)

I think I'm just going to leave that one alone for now and solder wires and leads to components on perfboard. PCB sounds a little too complicated for me lol