Nurse Quacky questions

Started by bal704, July 04, 2006, 11:18:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bal704

I'm relatively new to effects building, and I'm working on my second project, the nurse quacky. 

http://www.home-wrecker.com/nurse-quacky.html

Originally, I misoriented all the polarized parts (3 caps, 2 LED's).  This led to a great clean sound when the 3PDT switch was in one position, and no sound at all when in the other.  I fixed the polarized part problem (with all new parts), and now I get clean sound out of both 3PDT positions (i.e. no auto-wah).  In my first project, the fuzz face, if I had no power applied, I still got the clean sound in one switch position, but no sound in the other.  This is what I would expect out of a dead battery situation, and I expected that on this project as well.  I have the 3 pots in middle positions, and rotating the pots doesn't seem to have an effect.

When I do insert the battery, the LED attached to the 51ohm resistor flashes and goes off.  The LED attached to the 10k resistor comes on and stays on. I'm using 2 green LED's out of the same box.  When I switch the 3pdt, the LED attached to it comes on and stays on in one position, stays off in the other.

now the questions:

1) Should the 2 LED's on the PCB come on and stay on?  If not, what's the fix?
2) Should I expect no sound at all in one switch position if no power is applied? (i.e. a dead battery situation)
3) Any obvious problems I should look for?

Thanks in advance for any help

Mark Hammer

Quote from: bal704 on July 04, 2006, 11:18:04 AM
I'm relatively new to effects building, and I'm working on my second project, the nurse quacky. 
http://www.home-wrecker.com/nurse-quacky.html
Decent choice of project for #2.