Completely Lost.... Please help.

Started by Scott01, July 12, 2006, 06:28:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scott01

Ok, well I am doing systems & technology as a subject in year 11 at school and for this semester we are to free to select something to build for ourselves, so I thought I'd make something that is useful to me. I play bass guitar and I was wanting to know if someone can point me in the direction of where to get started on making an FX pedal/stompbox for bass.

I have never used an FX pedal before, let alone create one from scratch so I need some serious help please. I want to make a simple distortion/fuzz/overdrive pedal that I'll be happy to mess about with (just for fun, I most likely wont be performing with it). I have some experience in electronics/soldering/circuitry/PCB's etc. but I have absolutely zero experience with guitar/bass effects pedals. I was looking at the AMZ Overdrive stompbox by Jack Orman, I found the layout/schematic here:
http://www.tonepad.com/project.asp?id=20

Can anyone help me out with this project, or point me in the direction of a more appropriate project? The timeframe I have to build this project and write up a test/report/analysis is 11 weeks from now, will I be able to complete it by then?

Some other things I've had trouble with this layout/schematic is that the component list isnt extremely detailed (e.g it doesnt state what kind of capacitors are to be used) and for the past 5 years I've practically built everything in electronics step-by-step from some really simple electronics kits.
So I was wondering, what kind of capacitors it actually uses, and is the input/output jacks need to be stero or can I just use mono ones?

Thanks in advance.  ;)

Edit: Also, what components and their values will need to be changed for the guitar effects to work effectively for a bass guitar?

Scott01