Noob Alert - 386 Question

Started by beliefspace, July 15, 2006, 05:21:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

beliefspace

Hi Everyone,

I stumbled across this forum by chance and I've been reading it for quite a while.

I have some electronics experience, but have only just got into audio electronics, so I thought I'd throw togther a 386 circuit on breadboard to see what happened - and b***er me! it works! :o ;D  Thanks to Dragonfly's 'Basic 386 Fuzz' layout.

I'm currently experimenting with gate control (feeding through a 100nF) at the moment.  I fried a 386 earlier feeding it through a 220uF - sounded smooth, but with a s**t load of squealy feedback for about 2 minutes before the 386 packed in :icon_redface:.  I also melted a diode by feeding the output through it unprotected - also sounded sputtery and cool as it died horribly :icon_twisted: Still, I like to experiment and that costs components sometimes - nothing's gone bang with smoke ... yet  :D

So anyway, silly newbie mistakes aside, I have a couple of questions, if anyone can help it'd be really cool.

1) The 386 'Gain' connections ( pins 1 and 8 ), I read somewhere that if the pot is tuned all the way, i.e. the connections are shorted, the output can damage an amplifier?  Is that true? Should I place a resistor in series with the pot to limit the range?

2) I don't get what difference the diodes make in this circuit...

http://aronnelson.com/gallery/album17/386_FUZZ

...they almost seem to clean up the sound, not clip it.  I'm using the same diodes as stated 1N34A (I've also tried led's, 1N914 and 1N4148) doesn't seem to make any audible difference. (This is a new 386 I'm using now, not the one I destroyed in my earlier experiments)

3) Lastly, can anyone point me in the direction of a schematice involving a 741 and/or a 071.  I get the feeling making them work is a little bit more complex than the 386?

Thanks for any input, help is greatly received.  Sorry for the noob-style questions.

Stu

petemoore